Today is my last day as an intern at Gotham. Three months really moved quickly. I could go on and on about all the things I’ve seen/learned/laughed about here but it’ll take too long and I’m all about that brevity, man.

I don’t have too many writer friends in my day-to-day life. My friends couldn’t care less about literature. In fact, I’m pretty sure that most of them haven’t read a book since puberty, and I’m fine with that, but it’s been really special to have a place to come three days a week for the past twelve weeks where everyone is passionate about writing and wants to help others become better writers as well. Working here, I’ve felt the same way I did when I joined the undergraduate creative writing program in college—warm and fuzzy and stuff on the inside about being around people who care about the same things I do. That chance doesn’t come around all that often.

Going into this, I didn’t have any customer service experience and to be honest, I didn’t expect how much of this gig would involve that. I’ve avoided that kind of work because I’ve never been comfortable with talking to people in that way—I tend to stutter and mumble a lot—but having to answer the phones here and talk to current and prospective students, I’ve gotten a lot better at it. It turns out it’s not that bad. It doesn’t freak me out anymore which is a huge step forward for me. I even have a phone voice now. I can walk away from here knowing I have that skill now and developing a new skill is, as I’ve learned, no small thing.

Now it’s time for my thank you’s…

To my fellow interns Josh and Syeda; thank you guys for helping me out and showing me the ropes when I first started here. It was nice to have one of you to turn to and ask a dumb question I was too embarrassed to ask out loud. Kim; thank you for bringing your positive attitude and your light to the intern desk. You were better than me at just about everything involved in this gig and it was good for me to have someone around that I can learn from. And, if you ever read this, congratulations on the baby!

Steph, Melissa, Kelly, Justin, and Charlie; thank you for all of the good jokes and conversation. Oh, and all of your help and patience. I couldn’t have asked for a better team of people to be around.

Alex and Dana; thank you for this opportunity and deeming me worthy of this internship. I hope I lived up to your expectations. You two have been so supportive and I’m grateful for the time I’ve spent here.

As for what’s next for me, I’m in an interesting spot for the next few weeks. I was accepted to Columbia University’s MFA writing program (which I still fully can’t wrap my head around). I’m also currently on the waitlist for BU and Brooklyn College. So as of now, I don’t really know where I’ll be in the next few months. I may even wait another year and try again with some other schools next fall. Whatever happens, I know that my people here at Gotham are rooting for me and I appreciate them for that.

So that’s it for me here. I’ll see you guys around.

IMG_0459

Best pens in the game. I’m taking some of these with me.

